Books, Bikes, and Beer

A flood of cars constantly pours in and out of campus streets. All students, be they graduate biologists like my sister or tiny ignorant freshman, are officially in town, and I am no longer one of them. At the same time this thought makes me incredibly happy, I’m feeling a little sad about it. I wouldn’t mind having a few more intelligent conversations in the class setting. It turns out in the “real world” people are much less interesting and thoughtful than in school. I miss the environment at the university. It is very nice to just have work and chores on my schedule, though.

On Sunday, my boss at Alpine Arts took me to the Denver Mart, where retailers discover new wholesalers and make deals with their current ones. It’s amazing how many different designs you can print on a t-shirt. We were in appointments for about eight hours, and we sat in on a visual marketing seminar. It was definitely worth a twelve hour day at work. 

I stopped at Bailiwick Press this morning to pick up my copies of Jackpot and Goodnight Brew. They both turned out amazing, and I’m excited to see how quickly they fly off the shelves. The release party for Goodnight Brew is in September instead of October now, too, so I’m definitely looking forward to that. It’s going to take place at Equinox Brewery in Fort Collins if anyone can magically stop by!

Tour de Fat is this Saturday, as well, and for once I can participate! I still have to work out a costume, but no matter what I am, I’ll be surrounded by good beer, mimosas, and a great crowd. I’m thinking a ninja might be my only option since I have the costume already. I might end up being one of the girls from the Trailer Park Boys, considering the entire group I’m with is going that route. Whatever happens, it’s going to be a fun time. Fort Collins really is an ideal place to live out your twenties.

This post might seem a little bland, but I’m planning on posting some fiction one of these days! You’ll have the opportunity to see how the gears in my creative mind turn. Just a warning, though–it can get crazy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

